« Back to previous page

Erins Own Hurling Club

By firstly winning the Leinster club championship in 2005 it achieved what no other Carlow hurling team, in any grade, has ever done. Founded in 1934 in the boy’s national school by Michael Gaynor, Brother Hillary, Michael Purcell, Jack Monaghan, Joe Holden and Ned Keegan. Erins Own has a roll of honour which reads sixteen minor championships, six under 21, eight ‘premier’ junior championships, five junior, two intermediate and three senior championships.

This is impressive but now, in its seventy second year, Erins Own stands on the brink of history. The path to this final saw Erins Own defeat the champions of Meath, Dublin, Kilkenny and Galway. They have played some wonderful hurling and have won the hearts of young and old. The Leinster final was won in extra time; however the manner of the win in Banagher against Skehana of Galway was something special and shows the ‘never say die’ attitude of this team. The supporters have not stopped smiling yet.

Hurling fever has gripped Bagenalstown as nothing ever did before. A carnival atmosphere exists in the town with flays flying from every vintage point. A life sized hurler has taken over the green at Maple Drive – well done Brian Doyle. The boarding out side the new Credit Union building shows what all of this means to the town and county. On Saturday morning last some very talented artists decorated and painted this with the team colours and players names. Many ‘sons and daughters’ of Bagenalstown are returning from abroad for the game. This shows the incredible level of support for these young men. The only topic of conversation is ‘Croker’ and Erins Own; ‘have you booked your coach seat’, ‘when will the game tickets be on sale’.

The team panel is David Miley, Ronan Minchin, Morgan Drea, Martin Cummins, Fergal Byrne, Trevor Nolan, John Rogers, Anthony Elliott, Eoin Minchin, Christy Cody, John Miley, Brendan Mullins, Peter Doyle, Craig Doyle, Eoin Somers, Gary Doyle, Eoin Drea, Tony O’Brien, Niall Drea, Brian Wall, Simon Nevin, Ronan D’Arcy, Eoin Cowman, Peter Barron, Michael White, Larry Bolger, Kieran Hickey, Niall Cummins, Michael Purcell, David Hughes, Deccy Byrne, David Rea and John Gladney.

Mentors are Martin Kelly, Mick Lillis, Rock Pender, Paddy Carroll and Joe Doyle. The club is proudly led by life President Michael Jones who first hurled with Erins Own in 1936 and chairman John Mitchell –himself a former Erins Own great.
They say in life ‘nothing is black and white’ – Erins Own has shown that IT IS.

Next Sunday is Erins Own’s greatest day so enjoy it.

Accessibility Statement
Bagenalstown Parish | Tel : 059 972 1154 | Email : bagenalstownparish@gmail.com
Copyright 2010 Bagenalstown Parish All Rights Reserved.
Powered by Parish Websites, Design by acton|web